Mama

(clock chiming)
Mother, you had me but I never had you,
I wanted you but you didn’t want me,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Farther, you left me but I never left you,
I needed you but you didn’t need me,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Children, don’t do what I have done,
I couldn’t walk and I tried to run,
So I got to tell you,
Goodbye, goodbye.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home.
Mama don’t go,
Daddy come home…

 

 

Though the song is called „Mother”, it is actually a cry to both of his parents, who „abandoned” him in his childhood – Father Alf Lennon left the family when John was an infant, and mother Julia was hit by a car and killed on the street by a drunk-driving off-duty policeman, when her son was 17.

It is one of several songs which Lennon wrote for his mother. Others include „Julia” and „My Mummy’s Dead”. The song begins with the sound of a church bell ringing ominously, signifying death.

Lennon was inspired to write the song by a period of using Primal therapy, which works on the assumption that the patient has several defences which must be stripped down to reveal the „real person”.

Lasă un răspuns

